LG OLED42C2PSA 4K OLED TV & M1 MacBook Pro Setup Issues

TLDR; don’t buy an LG OLED42C2PSA 4K OLED TV to use as a monitor with an M1-based Mac. The HDMI port doesn’t support HDMI 2.1 and the USB-C/TB4 ports don’t have enough bandwidth to provide the full 4K, 120Hz, 10-bit colour at 4:4:4 chroma via an RGB signal.

The perfect monitor does not exist - 8K, 42", 10-bit colour depth, 99%+ DCI-P3 colour gamut and a 120Hz refresh rate - but the LG OLED42C2PSA 4K OLED TV is pretty damn close, supporting all that except for the 8K bit. When it appeared for only $1,356 at The Good Guys in a 24-hour sale earlier this week, I whipped out the AMEX and did a classic impulse buy. An hour later it was on my desk.

Native res vs 200% HiDPI (aka boomer’s iPhone mode)

Like most impulse buys, it did not go well and I have buyers remorse.

I’ll start with the good news. This display is gorgeous. I’ve never used or had an OLED TV in my home before (only seen them on handheld devices or at shops) and wow, they aren’t kidding about those deep blacks. I’m usually anti-dark mode for my day to day UI, but in the brief 72 hours I owned the OLED42C2PSA, I used it in dark mode just to enjoy that infinite black.

Once you’ve tweaked the settings properly as per this video to suit monitor use, as well as enable HiDPI mode via BetterDisplay so macOS renders text as if it was on a HiDPI display (i.e: semi properly), it’s great as a huge desktop monitor with loads of screen real estate for all sorts of activities.

Unfortunately, this where the good news ends. Connecting this TV to use as a monitor on my 2021 MacBook Pro (M1 Pro) was a total pain in the arse. No matter what I tried I could not get 4K, 120Hz, 10-bit colour in an RGB signal. 4K 60Hz? Sure, but lots of monitors do that. I wanted 120Hz and I wanted it in 10-bit colour.

The highest quality I could achieve after 3 days of fiddling with EDID settings, plist files and multiple $60-$70 cables.