Amber Electric - is constantly changing wholesale electricity pricing worth it?

I've been using Amber Electric as my energy retailer since Feb 2020 and folks, it is good and cheap with pretty much no downside. I've saved a shitload of cash and even if you don't have solar you'll still benefit.

With a normal electricity retailer you enter a contract with a set price for supply and usage, often with different pricing based on how much power you use and what time you use it. Amber don't do this - they pass on the live wholesale "spot" price for electricity which changes every 30 minutes plus a $10/m fee for doing their thing.

The advantage of tapping in to the live electricity market is that when electricity is cheap, you, the humble consumer, benefits from paying wayyyy less than the fixed price from a traditional retailer - like 10c/kWh versus 25c/kWh. Being exposed to the live market also exposes you to pricing peaks, that when you're using a traditional retailer you're protected from as you have a contract.

Luckily, there's way more electricity gluts (cheap power) than there is electricity rationing (expensive power) and the times when electricity will be cheap or expensive are kinda easy to predict so you can plan your electricity around them to save money. For example, if the sun is out, turn on your dishwasher instead of leaving it until 6pm-8pm when power costs the most.

Solar exports are also at the whim of the market, but in Victoria all energy retailers have to provide at least 10.2c/kWh until the 30th of June 2021. This also means if the wholesale export price spikes, you don't get a piece of the action. It sounds shit but unless you've got a big stonking solar setup *cough*, you're better off with getting 10.2c/kWh all the time instead of the usually pissweak wholesale rate.