Various methods for monitoring rooftop solar with a Fronius inverter

You've got your fancy new rooftop solar installed and being the nerd you are, you want stats and lots of 'em to show off your new investment! I'm going to focus on what you can do with a Fronius inverter because that's what I have and they're also very popular in Australia. I'm not an expert in this and have just cobbled together stuff so if you have any suggestions please leave a comment and we can all learn from your experience!

Fronius Smart Meter

The Fronius Smart Meter is an optional unit that is hardwired into your switchboard and inverter(s) that'll instantaneously measure how much power your house uses and combines it with how much power your rooftop solar is generating. I think the single phase meter is around $250 + install and the three phase meter around $500 + install. Fronius have a video aimed at installers explaining pretty much everything you need to know about the Smart Meter product.

It sends the data to your inverter which can then send all the data it's got (there's a lot of it - check out the API docs) to wherever you like (e.g: PVOutput/Grafana/whatever monitoring platform you wanna use). You can do all that without the Smart Meter, but if you want consumption data along with generation data, you need something like the Smart Meter to collect it - out of the box the Fronius inverter won't do it, all you get is how much power the system generated.

This video is a good example of everything you can see and do with Solar.web when you've got the Smart Meter:

If you don't have the Smart Meter, all you'll see in Solar.web or your app is how much power your system is currently generating and some historical data. There's nothing stopping you getting some other solution for measuring your generation, the Fronius Smart Meter isn't the only game in town for Fronius inverter owners.

Solar Analytics